Trying to get access to Leap motion Web Socket

Posted on
  • I'm trying to do a project with the Leap Motion and an ESP8266 E12. I am very new to using the ESP8266. I am trying to connect to the Leap Motion Websocket: located at http://127.0.0.1:6437 but am not able to get a response from the ESP. Ultimately I want to get the hand data from the websocket to control some servos.

here is my code:
    var WIFI_NAME = "***";
    var WIFI_OPTIONS = { password : "
    **" };

var wifi = require("Wifi");
    wifi.connect(WIFI_NAME, WIFI_OPTIONS, function(err) {
    if (err) {

console.log("Connection error: "+err);
    return;

}
    console.log("Connected!");
    });

var host = "127.0.0.1";
    var WebSocket = require("ws");

var ws = new WebSocket(host,{
      path: '/',
      port: 6473,
      keepAlive: 60
    });

ws.on('open', function() {
    console.log("Connected to server");
    });

ws.on('message', function(msg) {
    console.log("MSG: " + msg);
    ws.on('error', function(){
    console.log("error");});
    });

On my console I receive a Connected message but nothing else after that, not even an error.
    I've also attached a link for more information about the Leap Motion WebSocket:
    https://developer-archive.leapmotion.com­/documentation/javascript/supplements/Le­ap_JSON.html

Any help would be appreciated on how to get this working.

Thanks

• 127.0.0.1 is the local machine on each device. You need the IP address of the computer running the leap motion server. Usually that's 192.168.x.y on most LAN's.

• 127.0.0.1 is the loopback address - is the websocket server running on the same device that is trying to connect to it? That is the only time 127.0.0.1 will work.

• I just tried switching out the host: 127.0.0.1 to host: IP address of my computer, and left everything else the same but the same thing happened where I didn't get any feedback
    Should I leave the port number the same as well?