• I've found the python3 example code by now -but somehow this does not work on my pi:

pi@millow:~ $ python3 bluepi_uart.py c4:f0:3e:4d:c2:9d
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "bluepi_uart.py", line 34, in <module>
        nustx.write(command[0:20]);
      File "/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.5/site-pack­ages/bluepy/btle.py", line 200, in write
        return self.peripheral.writeCharacteristic(self­.valHandle, val, withResponse)
      File "/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.5/site-pack­ages/bluepy/btle.py", line 542, in writeCharacteristic
        self._writeCmd("%s %X %s\n" % (cmd, handle, binascii.b2a_hex(val).decode('utf-8')))
    TypeError: a bytes-like object is required, not 'str'

This is on a pi with python 3.5, bluepi itself seems to work and run. Also I would like to use python3 - but I am really not an expert here. Any ideas?

• Mon 2019.08.12

Hello @hansamann, a bit puzzled by your post, you do realize this forum provides support for boards running Espruino Javascript?

I don't see how your post applies?

• @Robin, @hansamann is aware of that... I confidently assume, because he has puck specific forum posts since quite a while ago. In this conversation he asks about an issue connecting to MDBT42 (on puck, pixl or plain MDBT42) from a raspi using python 2.7 / 3.5.

@hansamann, I had some heavy exposure to python in the apple heart study in 2018, but that was 2.7. Did not venture into 3.5. From the error it looks you pass a string (command[0:20]). A string looks to me usually as a byte (array) object, but with uni-code other than 8-bit, it may be a word (16-bit word) object. May be you have to pass a 8-bit byte array? ...the 20 first chars as 8-bit of this command string as a byte object? - ...my take from this stack trace...

• Just to be sure, you're using this code? https://www.espruino.com/Interfacing#pyt­hon