• Hey what's up,
    Will I hurt my MDBT42Q module by connecting a coin cell battery in parallel with a USB jack(or any other connector really, like a JST) for optional external power? Will it hurt the battery? I've attached a simple diagram to further clarify what I mean.

The coin cell is a 3V CR1225 cell and the external power connector will be a similar 3.3v power source.

EDIT: the external power connector will also handle data transfer through the RX/TX lines.

1 Attachment

• 20190702_134034.jpg
  • ...not really... you will destroy your button cell... but something like below will work:

1 Attachment

• cellBypassPower.png
  • Thanks, and nice editing!
    Is that diode all I need for a completely safe circuit? Is the diode a specific value/kind? I have little to no experience with non-LED diodes, so I need a little help here. Thanks.

• Lowest forward bias is best... a good schottky does well. And yes, this is perfect protection. You have just to know that your module has 3 - diodeForwardVoltage as input voltage (less than 3V).

• You have just to know that your module has 3 - diodeForwardVoltage as input voltage (less than 3V).

Sorry, but can you clarify that in layman's terms for me please?

• Diodes have a behavior like this: you run them in reverse, they block. Your run them in forward mode, they let the power pass but take a toll of it. The toll is 0.2...0.8, depending on the circumstances (SEE https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/dio­des/real-diode-characteristics). To protect also your button cell from powering the USB, we need a 2nd diode:

1 Attachment

• cellBypassPower.png
  • Are you talking about the MDBT42 breakout rather than a bare module? https://www.espruino.com/MDBT42Q

Just checking since the breakout will be fine off 5v as it has a regulator (as long as you use the Vin pin, not 3.3v!) https://www.espruino.com/MDBT42Q#pinout, but the module won't be, since it'll take only 3.6v maximum.