Wemos d1 mini for FAN control with Zwift

Posted on
  • Hello,

I'm new in the Espruino Forum. I've a basic question. I want to use a Wemos D1 mini for FanContol - similar to this approach . The basic idea is to use that device and Espruino, include the Library into it. Therefore I have directly access to the Zwift-Server and get the data like power, heart beat, speed and can control a PWM circuit to control a fan.
    Is this possible with Espruino. Until now, I've no experience with Espruinio. I've some applications runing with Arduino + Wemos D1 mini and some basic Arduino Boards (Uno, Mini,...)

Best regards Em

• ...sure, give it a try... Since you want to use PWM and quite some Web access, I'd chose an Espruino-Wifi.

Depending how you code it in JavaScript, Wemos D1 mini can work. You have to be aware that the ESP8266EX - which is the core - has to tend unconditionally every so often to the Wifi stack, and if you have some blocking code running - code that runs beyond the time of the window between the tending to the Wifi, ESP8266 / Wemos D1 mini will reset... not exactly what you are looking for.

A more robust solution it Espruino Wifi, where the ESP8266 ESP-07(s) - mounted on it has just to do with Wifi and your application with all the features runs on Espruino STM32F4.

Starting with Wemos D1 mini does no harm... you always can move up to pair it with a Pico to not throw Wemos D1 mini out... latter will then just do Wifi, and the Pico does your application work.

But as said, Espruino-Wifi is the more elegant solution...

• I tried to flash the Wemos D1 mini with the new Espruino Firmware - and it seems that all was fine. But how can I now access to the device? The Espruino WEB IDE shows the message "Connected to COM3 (No response from board)" when I try to send the demo to the board.
    Flashing a second time is also not possible.
    With Arduino IDE I can get the Board-Info (only USB device?). Flashing also not possible.