ES6 Constructs NOT available in modules

Posted on
  • Hello,

@Gordon: Thanks so much for your contribution to this product.

I am an experienced JS developer, but new to espruino. I understand that espruino is not 100% of any JS spec, and that it has implemented a few ES6 constructs (such as arrow functions, template strings, etc.).

I am using the IDE (ver 0.70.4) with projects enabled, allowing me to define/use my own modules.

My experience is the the supported espruino ES6 constructs are ONLY AVAILABLE in the main code that is deployed to the MCU. Using something like arrow functions or template strings:

• WORK when it is in the main code
    • ERROR (at MCU deployment time) when they are found in a module

Thoughts?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Kevin

• In the ide I think you may get warnings, however the interpreter itself can handle the code.

From memory the acorn parser in the ide does not handle things like arrow functions.

• Sat 2018.10.06

Hello @KevinAst,

You may have uncovered the new 'features' page, but in case:

http://forum.espruino.com/conversations/­326063/

• Thanks @Wilberforce.

I think I had noticed (as you suggest) that the deployed code was actually working, even with the IDE deployment error.

Unfortunately, this would be a rather problematic process ... not knowing if there is a legitimate error in the deployment, or it is just a false indicator.

Curious as to what the real problem is, and if there is a way to eliminate this "false error" from the IDE.

• Thanks @Robin.

Yes I will most likely be using github eventually ... right now I am in a "sandbox" mode.

This would be rather odd if a remote deployment solved the "false error" coming out of the IDE. At best, this would be a "hack".

Curious as to what the real problem is.

Thanks for the link!

• Hi Kevin, are you actually a supporter on Patreon? If so, can you PM me the email address you used so I can make sure your badge on the forum reflects it?