Low Temperature Limit for Puck and MDBT42Q

Posted on
  • I've got a Puck with an Automation Serice, sending E.temperature and some other builtin peripherals' data. It sits well protected on my balkony, acting as small outdoor weather station. It work well down to temperatures of about -5 °C.
    Nordic's datasheet states that the chip should work even at -25 .. -40 °C. Now I'm wondering what actually limits the working temperature to -5 °C. Would the MDBT42Q board also have this limitation?
    I'm fancying a weather station with MDBT42Q and a BME280 sensor, maybe a little display, and a battery lasting +1 year, replacing my current LCD thermomter (without BLE :)

• I'm not an expert but likely you will hit in cold temperatures the limitation of the CR2032 cell or almost any other battery first. The chemical process within a battery is significantly more temperature dependent as any other component.

Next to the battery your only other concern should be condensation since it may lead to shorts or corrosion.

• Thanks for the answer. I didn't think of the batteries at all, will do some experiments with AAA batteries next. Although, the specs for CR2032 say they work down to -20 or even -40 °C.

• The MDBT42Q module itself lists -40°C as the minimum operating temperature, so I would have thought that you'd be fine. I don't believe any other components on the Puck or MDBT42Q breakout would cause you issues (not at -5 degrees).

I'm be pretty sure the battery would be the first thing to go - looking at the datasheet the cells supposedly are ok down to -30, but the voltage out of them drops. If the cell were already partially run down, low temperatures would definitely cause issues.

If you output the battery voltage over Bluetooth as well then you might possibly see if the voltage was getting very low just before the Puck stopped?

• Good idea, and here are the results:

Puck 2018-07-25T16:35:15.258Z { temp: 25, bat: 2.998 }