[SOLVED] Unable to execute code on an ESP8266

Posted on
  • I'm new to using Espruino and i am trying out ThingsSDK sample project to run Espruino on a NodeMCU ESP8266.

I have flashed Espruino -1v91 via Flasher.js.app on my Mac and the flash works perfectly on the port /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART and suceeds

But when doing 'node run dev', i encounter the error 'unable to connect'. I've tried both the supported baud rates and still it has the same issue.

user$ npm run dev

sample1@0.0.0 dev /Users/user/someFolder/IOT/Espruino/samp­le1
    node ./scripts/upload development && npm run repl

Treeshaking code... Sending code to device - /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART @

9600 baud... espruino: Espruino Command-line Tool 0.0.23

espruino: Connecting to '/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART' espruino: Port
    "/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART" not found espruino: Unable to connect!
    Exited with status 0

sample1@0.0.0 repl /Users/user/someFolder/IOT/Espruino/samp­le1
    node ./scripts/repl

Connecting REPL... espruino: Espruino Command-line Tool 0.0.23

espruino: Connecting to '/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART' espruino: Port
    "/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART" not found espruino: Unable to connect!

I've tried to connect Espruino Web IDE and it shows connected but whenever i send a javascript line to evaluate it sends it but there's no response back displayed. No visual indication if something executed or not.

Has anyone else faced this issue? Any help is appreciated. I just have a Mac machine to experiment on.

• I'm on the same path. Trying to figure out to get nodemcu esp8266 running Espruino. I've had no luck. Something I wasn't aware of when I bought mine was that there are many versions of the esp8266.

Can you give us some more details of exactly which board you have?

Here's what I purchased:
    HiLetgo New Version ESP8266 NodeMCU LUA CP2102 ESP-12E
    *The one I bought has "Amica" written underneath