[SOLVED] Espruino 1.94 on ESP8266 12E does not work

Posted on
  • Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this, so please bear with me.
    Trying to load the latest Espruino firmware 1.94 to my ESP8266 12E boards. It came with Node MCU and I used it to flash Arduino programs through it's IDE and it worked perfectly.
    I have 3 ESP8266 units and tried flashing Espruino on all of them and had no luck.

My Os is Windows 10 Pro (64bit)

Symptoms:

• I do not see any flashing errors. All flashing programs seems ends successfully.
    • Espruino IDE communications Baud rate is set to 115200
    • At first connect from Espruino IDE, it says disconnected (see picture).
    • At second connect from IDE, it connects. But on the terminal prompt I cannot type anything. prompt does not accept any text (see picture).
    • I used PuTTY, still the same. I do not see a thing. Cannot type any text at the prompt.
      See attached pictures please (see picture).

Tools used to flash firmware:

• nodemcu-flasher (see pictures for it's configurations)
    • esptool.py
    • For python I use Enthought Canopy
    • firmware I used for my board is "espruino_1v94_esp8266_4mb"
    • I did a erase flash. command line for that

python "../../esptool/esptool.py"  --port COM4 erase_flash

esptool.py v2.2-dev
      Connecting....
      Detecting chip type... ESP8266
      Chip is ESP8266EX
      Uploading stub...
      Running stub...
      Stub running...
      Erasing flash (this may take a while)...
      Chip erase completed successfully in 8.3s
      Hard resetting...

Command line I used to to flash to board,

python "../../esptool/esptool.py" --port COM4 --baud 115200 write_flash --flash_freq 80m --flash_mode qio --flash_size 4MB 0x0000 "boot_v1.6.bin" 0x1000 espruino_esp8266_user1.bin 0x3FC000 esp_init_data_default.bin 0x3FE000 blank.bin

esptool.py v2.2-dev
    Connecting....
    Detecting chip type... ESP8266
    Chip is ESP8266EX
    Uploading stub...
    Running stub...
    Stub running...