Magnetometer sensitivity

Posted on
  • Am I interpreting the docs correctly in that Puck can be woken up on a mag event. I can adjust the sample rate down but I still get readings even when the puck is stationary. I'm wondering if this is because the readings - despite the puck not moving - are actually changing. They differ each reading by a very small amount.

Which leads me to ask, if this is the case and the small changes trigger a reading, can the sensitivity be turned down so that when it is stationary the Puck can sleep.

• The senser will raise an event every time when a new measurement is available. There is no sensitivity or the like.

• As @luwar says - the sensor itself will always wake Espruino up.

I was vaguely considering adding code to make it only run JS if the reading changed by a certain amount, but realistically the power saving from doing that isn't that great.

• @Gordon
    I'm new to puck js and this is just an amazing device, I'm glad with it and get it working in less than 5 minutes.
    Working everyday with ESP32, Lopy, Sodaq and LoraWan devices, your little puck open me new doors for business.
    I usually use accelerometer with IRQ detection with programmed thresold to get IRQ only when device is moved.
    So according this post it's not possible yet, so what's the best deal to detect move of the device with best consumption usage ? (compare values between wakes ?)
    Any example code would be welcome
    thanks for your help

• I have a post here, which is what I've been using to detect movement:

http://forum.espruino.com/conversations/­301185/

By default it measures the magnetic field at 0.63Hz, which keeps the wakeups to a minimum while still being fast enough to detect movement pretty well.

Hope that helps!

• @Gordon
    Thanks, I missed this one