• hi,

I want a wireless door bell with the puck-js as the button, and when pressed it can play music (MP3 or whatever sound it can make) from a Andriod phone or tablet inside the house.

Sorry I am a very beginner of programming puck js, any suggestions are welcomed thanks

• Hi, that sounds like a fun project!

I guess the easiest solution would be to set Puck.js up as a Bluetooth keyboard: http://www.espruino.com/Puck.js+Keyboard­

If you follow the 'Multimedia Keys' example you can make it act like a 'Play' button - so any music that was queued up on the phone would then play - without needing any software on the phone itself.

To go a little further you could turn Puck.js into a normal keyboard and make an app (or just a website) that listened for any keypress, and then did whatever you wanted (play music, etc).

If you wanted to go further I think you'd definitely need to write an app on the Android phone though. Have you ever done anything like that?

The best solution would be for an app to scan for Bluetooth advertisement data (so there was no active connection needed) - which it could do even while the phone's screen was off.

Hope that helps!

• Thanks Gordon for your prompt reply.

No unfortunately I have no experience on andriod app (very long time ago I did take a class about window mobile programming, i think ~20yrs ago...). Can you point me direction where to start with? If I want this work I definitely need it to be working while the phone's screen is off.

• To be fair the play button would work with the phone off - and it could stop the music after a few seconds as well. It's just a matter of keeping music queued up - but you could probably find something for that.

For Android app development, best to check out Google's site: https://developer.android.com/training/i­ndex.html

You could have a go at following their tutorial to do a really simple app, and see how you feel about it?

• If you Google SL4A Scripting Language for Android