16x2 LCD shield w/ Keypad

Posted on
  • Firstly, here is a link to the exact model I am trying to use

http://www.adafruit.com/products/772

I am trying to wire this up, I've checked the module reference and tried a few of the various LCD drivers, but I'm stumped. Does anyone know how to connect this model? I'm pretty new to microcontrollers and this is beyond me.

Praise to any and all help!

• Screen is one of these

http://www.espruino.com/HD44780

It's driven in 4 bit mode, it looks like.

Then everything is driven by the mcp23017 i2c pet expander. Nobody has written a module (what Arduino would call a library) for it that yet, probably since the espruino boards aren't pin starved quite like an Arduino is.

• First, you have to talke to MPC23017 I2C expander and configure it that through it you will talk to the HD44780 LCD controller. Latter you will then have to configure as well before can actually send commands and data to show something on the display.

|           I2C            6..10 Bit
    |          serial          parallel                 
    |                          for LCD
    |                          controller
    |                          plus more
    |                          for leds
    |                          and buttons
    |                             |---------------------> LED for back light
    | Espruino <----> MPC23027 <--+----> HD44780 <------> LCD
    |                             |---------------------> Button 0 (select)
    |                             |---------------------> Button 1 (North, up)
    |                             |---------------------> Button 2 (East, right)
    |                             |---------------------> Button 3 (South, down)
    |                             |---------------------> Button 4 (West, left)
    |          2 wires         about 7..11         hundredth(s)      
    |                          wires(see schema)     of wires