Liquid Flow Meter (FT330) kegbot.org

Posted on
  • I'd like to try a project like this kegbot.org but with the espruino. I'm a maker newbie, but I do know javascript and development methods. Do you think something like this is feasible? I searched but didn't see any work done on liquid flow meters in this forum.

Any other thoughts?

• Reading the FT330 should be no problem.
    It outputs flow as a frequency, which is inconvenient, but just do setWatch() on the pin to get the times of the pulses, and then do a bit of math to convert that to a flow rate. Make the code the runs in the watch short n' fast. Only problem I could see is if it it bogs down the Espruino at high flow rates (I doubut it will, and if it's a problem now, it probably won't be once we get a few more improvements to compiled js so you can use that).

• Awesome thanks for the quick reply. There's also this liquid flow meter which is less expensive, but more accurate. http://www.adafruit.com/product/828

It sounds like the same thing. The description seems like it will help with the math.
    The sensor comes with three wires: red (5-24VDC power), black (ground) and yellow (Hall effect pulse output). By counting the pulses from the output of the sensor, you can easily track fluid movement: each pulse is approximately 2.25 milliliters. Note this isn't a precision sensor, and the pulse rate does vary a bit depending on the flow rate, fluid pressure and sensor orientation. It will need careful calibration if better than 10% precision is required. However, its great for basic measurement tasks!

• How is it more accurate? The FT330 datasheet spec's +/-2%, while Adafruit says +/-10%.

Either should work for interfacing with the Espruino - the interface is nearly identical, though as I alluded to above, if the input frequency gets too high, the Espruino won't be able to keep up.