• Hi,

Finally I have bought some hardware to my espruino boards and I have a question:

I started with code from distance sensing robot:

var TRIG = A0; // ultrasonic trigger
    var ECHO = A1; // ultrasonic echo signal
    var MOTORS = [A3,A2,B10,B11]; // pins for the motors

var t1 = 0;
    var dist = 0;
    var inManouver = false;

// Get the distance from the sensor
    setWatch(function(e) { t1=e.time; }, ECHO, { repeat:true, edge:'rising'  });
    setWatch(function(e) { var dt=e.time-t1; dist = (dt*1000000)/57.0; },  ECHO, { repeat:true, edge:'falling' });
    // 20 times a second, trigger the distance sensor
    setInterval("digitalPulse(TRIG,1, 10/1000.0)",50);

i'm trying to make for e.g.

Led1 on if distance sensing between 10 and 20 cm
    Led2 on if 20 and 50 cm
    Led3 ......

tried with switch (case) and multiplue ifs always fail, what is the best way to achive this functionality?

I have also some general question about some book / tutorial on Java for total newbie before making some serious code.

Thanks in advance for help.

BR
    Max

• Hi Max,

the way I understand you code is that every 50[ms] the sensor is sent a pulse of 10[ms] via Pin A0. Pin A1 listens for a rising and a falling edge with on ('inline', anonymous) callback (functions) each. The callback for the rising edge catches t1, and the callback for the falling one gets the time delta. With the time delta and some formula the dist(ance) is calculated. The distance is divide into three bands and each of these bands is assigned to one of the onb-board LED and to be lit when in respective distance band.

I wonder about the timings... do you have some figures?

330[m/s] is the speed of sound.
    To 'travel' 0.1..0.2[m] it takes between 0.3..0.6[ms]... which would show in dt (0.0003..0.0006[s]).... and so one for the the other distances. Any of these rises and falls happen in a fraction of your digital pulse...