More than 1 Espruino at 1 time??

Posted on
  • Hi there,

Im very new to using Espruino so please bare with me.. Im currently working on a project the requires me to use more than 1 Espruino at one time. Im plugging them into a USB hub then into the computer running Mac OSX. Is there something in the code to change, like an IP address in the code of something? Where would it be in the coding. Im new to coding also!

Cheers in advance
    Connor

• Hi Connor,

No problem! The boards should be fine being connected to the same computer. All you need to care about is how you communicate with them... They'll each have a different device name (beginning with /dev/tty), so you just need to use the correct device for each one.

The Web IDE will happily connect to each, but you can only have one Web IDE window open at a time at the moment, so you can only actually communicate with one that way. However you could use something like screen or if you're sending commands you could look at this page on controlling Espruino from code running on your mac.

Finally, if you don't have any need to send data to or get it from your Espruinos, you don't even need a Mac to connect them to - just use a USB charger or a battery!

Hope that helps!

• @Gordon, in other words, the WebIDE can be connected to exactly one board at one time... and it is the board (dev) which is picked from the list on connect. Is that correct?