• Hi there!

I'm new to the whole topic and I've received my first espruino this week and wanted to play around with it on this weekend. Most things work great out of the box but I am struggling a little with understanding the read/write functions.

I'm trying to light an LED for only 100ms by entering digitalPulse(C8,1,100);, but .. the LED stays on indefinite. When reading the current status with digitalRead(C8); it turns off again. In addition digitalRead always returns 1.

So I tried the same with the analog functions by entering analogWrite(A0,1); which turns it on and with analogWrite(A0,0); I can turn it off. But what puzzles me, is when I run analogRead(A0); it also turns it off.

My question therefor is: Why do the reading functions turn it off? I was expecting to receive what I've written / the current status of the pin.

Thanks for taking time to read and answer! :)
    Mario

• Edit out wrong answer

• Take a look at the pinMode() function.

When pin mode is set to automatic - by executing pinMode( pin ) w/ no 2nd argument - before read or write operation, then read and write defines at the same time the wether the pin is input or output pin. The pin is not a register that you set or unset and then read back what you have set (or unset). What you get back depends on how the pin is setup in detail. For simplicity - when in auto mode - write sets the pin in output mode - and will apply power (make the pin sink or source), read sets the pin in input mode.

After ESPRUINO is started, you can ask the mode of a pin with getPinMode(pin). You will notice that different pins are set to different modes.