• Espruino newbie here. My project requires me to periodically drive a vibration motor, something like this: https://catalog.precisionmicrodrives.com­/order-parts/product/310-114-10mm-vibrat­ion-motor-13mm-type

I'm using a 3.7v Lipo battery. The motor at that link above says it's 3v.

The motor doesn't need to change speeds or directions. It just needs to come on for a few seconds every now and then.

I'm confused about whether I need a L293D, a ULN2003, a Relay, or if that's all overkill and if I can just hook up the wires to some pins on the board and do a "digitalWrite()"?

Any tips? Thanks!

John

• You cannot just do digitalWrite() - the rated operating current is 250ma, which the Espruino cannot supply.

The next question is whether the motor can be run directly off the LiPo battery (which could put out up to 4.2v at full charge). If that's too much (read the spec sheet - somewhere it will list a maximum operating voltage), you need a way to lower the voltage. You could use a 3.3v LDO regulator (these are common and good things to have on hand anyway), but I'd be worried about whether the "Low drop out" was low enough (would have to check datasheets). You could even just put a diode in series with it, to drop the 0.7v or so, or a schottky diode to drop 0.3v. Or, since you know the current should be around 250ma (but ofc this will depend on voltage), and use a resistor of appropriate resistance (somewhere around 1-4 ohms, depending on how picky it is about the voltage it gets fed).

As for driving it, you need either a ULN2003/2803, a MOSFET, or a transistor of some sort.

Actually, if you're using a ULN2003, you might not even need the resistor/diode/etc - those things drop some voltage internally.

If using a ULN2003, the wiring is pretty obvious.